2016 and the New Year

Welcome everyone. 2016 is coming to a close and at this time of year many of us take a look back at the year behind us and set goals or create resolutions for the year ahead. I personally don’t feel like you need a new calendar page to make life changes, I do have some of my own and a challenge for everyone.

A Look Back at 2016

Before I go into the goals and challenge, lets take a quick look at 2016. If you follow social media you have seen a plethora of tweets/posts/memes of how this year has been terrible. Despite the deaths of famous people and the political upheaval we are still dealing with, I think 2016 has been a good year personally. I got a new job and moved from chilly Chicagoland to the Space Coast of Florida. I’ve been able to better provide for my family, been a better husband, and been a better father. Gen Con 2016 was a blast. I made my first Day 2 at GP Atlanta. I would also argue that if you look for the good parts of last year you’ll be able to find them. People will continue to die because we all get older. Your political party will continue to win some and lose some. Find your joy elsewhere. I’d be happy to talk to you about where I get mine if you’d like to know more.

2016 MTG Goals

I’ve got two big goals for the MTG Commander parts of my life. The first is to be smarter about my Magic purchases. I tend to let the hype train drive my purchases or will buy a handful of cards for a deck that I play less than three games with (if I build it at all). This kind of behavior has to stop. I plan on starting to listen to Brainstorm Brewery, which I hear is very good. The other plan is to force myself to either make a complete list (both on the internet and physically) except for the cards I’m missing to make sure I really need them, or have set cards that are coming out of a current deck before I buy the cards. We’ll see how I do.

The second big goal is to be better at how I tweak my current three decks. Currently I’ve got Lorthos, Sedris, and Sliver Queen together. I want to continue to tune them the way Roberto Moser tunes Grimgrin. To do this I want to start bringing a notebook with me to Commander games to note the cards I’m happiest/saddest to see in each game as well as general notes about the mana curve.

Challenge For Commander Players

I do have one challenge for any Commander player reading this, and something I’ll do myself. Before your first Commander games of 2017, pick a legend/theme and build a new deck. Play that deck all year. Tweak and tune it. Maybe change the legend if the themes of the deck pull you. I’d bet that by the end of 2017 you’ll have a deck that you love playing. Personally I’m not sure who I’ll be building, but my first Commander day won’t be until January 8th at the earliest.

Wrapping Up

2016 is almost completely behind us. Use this time, even though you could do so at any time, to set yourself goals. How will you make yourself a better person or Magic player? I also hope you’ll take the 2017 Commander challenge and build a deck for the year. Keep it all year even if it starts poor. Push your boundaries. Most importantly, find joy in 2017. Until next time, happy brewing.

– Cowboy Kyle

One thought on “2016 and the New Year

Leave a Reply

